(925) 443-9691

Purchase Process

Congratulations on your decision to buy a firearm!

We hope you will have years of enjoyment with your purchase, and we hope you will spread the word about how fun the shooting sports are. There are myriad laws and regulations that must be followed to purchase a firearm, which have been summarized and simplified below. Because new laws and regulations are added frequently, be sure to check with your local firearms dealer before making a purchase to avoid potentially costly mistakes.

Federal and State law requires that you pass a background check before you can purchase a firearm. This is the DROS process. California also requires that you furnish either a hard copy Drivers License, or hard copy California ID card. The only exception is for Military Personnel on active duty, in which case a Military ID card plus a copy of your orders to CA is sufficient (see additional state requirements for handguns, below). If your Drivers License or ID card does not have your correct address, or has a PO box, you will need to furnish additional proof of residence, as described below.

Beginning January 1st, 2015, all firearm purchasers must have either a Handgun Safety Certificate (valid for handguns only) or a Firearms Safety Certificate (valid for either handguns or long guns).  If you are purchasing a handgun and already possess a valid HSC card, you won’t need an FSC card.  If you are purchasing a long gun (rifle or shotgun), and you do not have an FSC card, you will need to obtain one prior to registering your long gun.  You must take a 30 question test and pay a $25 fee for the FSC card.  We offer the test in the store, and it takes approximately 20 minutes to complete. The only exception to the requirement for an FSC card is for long gun buyers who also have a valid CA Hunting License.  A copy of that license can be used in lieu of an FSC card.  Information on the new FSC program, as well as a study guide for the FSC test, can be found here.

After the DROS process is started, there is a ten day “cooling off” period, where we store your firearm(s). Literally, you may not pick up your firearm until ten 24 hour periods have elapsed. For example, if you purchase a firearm on the 4th of the month at 2:00, you may not pick up the firearm until after 2:00 on the 14th of the month. Also, the background check expires after 30 days, so if you leave your new firearm for more than 30 days, you will have to start another DROS process, and pay for the background check all over again, plus wait an additional 10 days.

Proof of residency

Federal Proof of Residency:

Government-issued document with your name and physical address on it (no PO boxes).  Examples of this are:

  • Valid car registration with your name and address (no PO box allowed)
  • Municipal Utility bill with your name and address (no PO box allowed) Utility bills are Electric bills, Water bills, Garbage bills if the utility is a Municipal Utility.  For example, EBMUD is a Municipal Utility, but Pleasanton Water is not. Copies of your insurance bill, renewal notices for registration, etc. are not allowed.
  • State or Federal permit or ID, with an expiration date, plus your current address. Note that passports are not allowed.  Hunting and Fishing licenses are also not allowed.

When do you need Federal Proof of Residence?  If your CA Driver’s License or CA ID card does not have your correct physical address on it, you will also need Federal Proof of Residence.

Between Federal, State, and local law, all firearms sold in our store must be sold with a California Certified Lock. If the firearm does not come with a lock, we are required to provide one at additional cost.

Additional requirements for handguns:

Handguns sold in California must be on the roster of handguns approved for sale in California. That list can be found here. The only exceptions are for Active Law Enforcement Officers, and Face to Face Private Party Transactions (see the Fees section below for a description of PPTs). Handgun buyers must furnish additional proof of residency, as listed below.

State Proof of Residency:

  • Valid car registration with your name and address (no PO box allowed.)
  • Utility bill with your name and address (no PO box allowed) Utility bills are Electric bills, Water bills, Garbage bills, Land-line Telephone bills (not cell phone bills), Cable bills, Satellite bills. Copies of your insurance bill, renewal notices for registration, etc. are not allowed.
  • State or Federal permit or ID, with an expiration date, plus your current address. Note that passports are not allowed.  Hunting and Fishing licenses are also not allowed.
  • Current Rental or Lease agreement, with your name and address on it.

When do you need State Proof of Residence?  If your CA Driver’s License or CA ID card does not have your correct physical address on it, you will also need State Proof of Residence.  In addition, if you are purchasing a handgun, you will need State Proof of Residence.

Fees for purchasing a firearm

There are 3 types of firearm transactions in California, each with their own set of fees:

1)  Dealer Purchase.  A customer buys a firearm directly from us.  We procure the firearm, and handle all the appropriate paperwork.  We incorporate our fees in the price of the gun, but you are responsible for paying the DROS (Dealers Record Of Sale) fee, which is currently $25, plus any applicable sales tax.

2)  Face-to-Face Private Party Transaction (PPT).  A customer buys a firearm from another private party, in person.  The firearm is not shipped to our store; rather the buyer and seller meet at our store and conduct the sale in person.  We process the paperwork on behalf of the buyer and seller; the buyer pays for the DROS, plus a $10 processing fee.  If the firearm does not include a CA Certified gun lock, the buyer must purchase one from us. Both parties must be present at least one hour before we close for us to do the transaction.

3)  Non-Local firearm transaction.  A customer buys a firearm from another dealer or private party, either in person or online.  The firearm is shipped to us, and the buyer comes into our store to complete the transaction.  The buyer is responsible for the DROS fee, a $75 processing fee, plus applicable sales tax.  In addition, if the firearm does not include a CA Certified gun lock, the buyer must purchase one from us.  If multiple rifles or shotguns are brought in from the same source, the $75 processing fee applies to the first firearm only, plus $10 for each additional firearm up to 5 total.  Note that the processing fee for handguns is $75 per handgun because each handgun requires a separate DROS. PLEASE NOTE: United States Postal Service packages will incur an additional handling charge of $100, due to our current mail carrier having a sandy vagina. He refuses to deliver our mail. Therefore DO NOT send us firearms through the United States Postal Service because we do not support those incompetent idiots. Please use a modern carrier that is not going broke and works efficiently such as FEDEX or UPS. You must fill out a Firearms Transfer Form and fax, email, or deliver a copy to us prior to the firearm(s) being received.  FFL Transfer Form